Skilled Visas

General Skilled Migration

The Independent Skilled Migration Visa programme is a suitable Australian migration pathway for potential applicants who:

  • Are over 18 and less than 45 years of age
  • Have good English language ability
  • Are nominating an eligible occupation
  • Have relevant skilled work experience
  • Have a recognised qualification or trade and a valid skills assessment from the relevant Australian assessing authority
  • Are of good health and character

  • Potential visa applicants are assessed against a migration points system. Points are allocated against an applicant’s age, skills, qualifications, work experience and other criteria.

    In addition to this, visa applicants applying through General Skilled Migration must also have an occupation listed upon the relevant skilled occupation lists:

    • Medium Long Term Skills Shortage List (MLTSSL) – 189 Independent Skilled visa, 485 Graduate Work stream and 489 Family Sponsored visa

    • Medium Long Term Skills Shortage List or Short Term Skilled Occupation list (STSOL) - State or territory sponsored 190 visa and Regional Sponsored 489 visa

    Potential visa applicants will first have to submit an EOI (Expression Of Interest) using the Department of Home Affair’s Skill Select online system and receive an invitation in order to lodge a visa application. Understanding and entering the correct information into your EOI is crucial to the success of your application and mistakes can lead to a costly visa refusal.

    We can assist with this entire process from skills assessment and EOI, to the State sponsorship application and visa application following your invitation.

    Contact us now to determine your eligibility.